top of page
Search
  • blockerabby1

Thanking You

For those that are following from the southern hemisphere, I hope you are staying warm in this cold and rainy winter weather! And for those following from the northern hemisphere, I hope you are doing just the opposite and enjoying your summer! Regardless of where you are, I hope that you will enjoy my celebratory news: I am excited to share that during the latest Rotary induction for the Rotary Club of Claremont, I was awarded a Paul Harris Award! This award is my second, with my first being from District 6950 at home. I am very proud to have achieved this award as it means a lot within the Rotary community. For those not familiar, Paul Harris was the founder of Rotary. In the words of my mentor Jo Hobson:

"Being recognized as a Paul Harris Fellow is one of the highest honours a Rotary club can bestow upon a person. Recipients are Rotarians and community professionals, in recognition of their outstanding contributions, exemplifying the highest ideal in Rotary in placing service above self.”

I was so surprised and honored to receive the award at induction night. It meant a lot to me because my mom and partner were able to be there as well. It was a really special evening and reminds me to continually be thankful to everyone who has supported me on my journey (and there are so many people who have helped me!). Here in Cape Town I have my wonderful mentor and her family, my international committee, and Claremont Rotarians who are always making sure I'm taken care of. There's my academic team at UCT, the students and staff who continually push me to do my best. There's my family at home, who are always checking on me and keeping me updated on what's going on from the other side of the world! And of course, the Rotarians and funders who started me on this journey, from the Rotary Club of Inverness, who continue to support me through it all. I couldn't be more grateful for everyone who has supported me on this journey - so really, this award is for all of you and how you build me up every day to be the best that I can be. Thank you to everyone (from both hemispheres)!


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page