top of page
Search
  • blockerabby1

From Summer to Autumn

As the month changes from March to April, autumn is approaching in Cape Town! The weather is getting cooler (and windier!), and I can't believe I've already been here 3 months. In March, I got to do some really fun activities and meet some really great people!

In the beginning of the month, I hiked Lion's Head. It was about a 2 hour hike total, and the views were beautiful! From the top, you can see the whole city of Cape Town.

March 13th was the Cape Town Cycle Tour, which is one of the club's biggest fundraisers. It is a 109km cycle race going all the way around Cape Town, and the largest timed cycle tour in the world! The winner this year completed the race in only 2 hours and 37 mins. Unfortunately, the weather was pretty rainy and cool, but there was still a huge turnout, and we had a great time volunteering!

I also had a virtual Zoom meeting on March 22nd with the Rotary Club of Inverness back home. It was really nice to see so many familiar faces! I was excited to share all of my experiences so far, and I got some really great questions as well.

Finally, last Saturday (April 2nd), I attended a mentorship event with the Rotary Club. I got to see my mentee, and there were group activities for us to do together. It was great to get to know her more and learn about her life. I also learned some new facts about South Africa during our trivia game! For example, did you know that platinum, coal briquettes, and gold are 3 of South Africa's biggest exports (more than wine and diamonds)? The day was a really great experience and I'm very glad I get to be a part of this mentorship program!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page