top of page
Search
  • blockerabby1

May Flowers

This month, I've been able to start working more on my dissertation. I have started working in the lab and been able to meet more of the students who also work in the lab. I have also been continuing my coursework, which ends at the end of June. I'm looking forward to this time, when I'll be able to start working full time on my project! Below is a picture of me working with one of the devices for my project in the lab.

I was able to attend the Rotary District 9350 Conference last Saturday. This district includes western part of South Africa, Angola, and Namibia. There are 59 clubs within this district, and at the conference I got to hear about some of the many projects that each club is working on. The Club of Claremont (my host club) won an award for their Life Choices grant, which is the mentorship grant that I have been participating in!


The day after the meeting, I was invited to go sailing in Hout Bay with one of the Rotarians, Andre. Hout Bay is about a 30 minute drive south of where I stay in Cape Town. Sunday was the centennial celebration of the opening of Chapman's Peak drive. The drive goes along the mountain, on the coast of the Atlantic Ocean. The views were beautiful, and we got to see a cannon being shot to commemorate the day. It was a great experience, and I was glad to be invited out for the day!

I'll end with another book recommendation. I have been continuing to visit the library, and I came across this book in the new arrivals section. The book is written by a forensic pathologist in South Africa. He talks about his experiences working across South Africa, and how his job differs from how forensic pathologists who work in more developed countries. It contains some pretty graphic medical descriptions, so beware if you aren't into that! But, it was a great read for me, especially after completing my cadaver work this semester.


32 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page