top of page
Search
  • blockerabby1

Parks & Rec

Over the past two weeks, I've had the opportunity to visit two parks within Cape Town. The first I visited is the Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden. I had a picnic with a few friends, and got to see a ton of different plant life native to South Africa. All of the plants in the park are labeled to see, but there are plenty of small hikes out of the main areas to take to some breathtaking views as well. My friends and I climbed a small hike to a bridge that overlooked tons of vegetation below. There was so much to see that unfortunately, I didn't get to everything, but I'll definitely be back soon!

I also got to attend a Rotary social event with the Rotary Club of Claremont the past weekend at Wynberg Park. The event was a braii, which is the equivalent of a barbecue in the US! I brought with me the other Global Grant scholar that arrived with me, JD. JD is sponsored by the Rotary Club of Newlands, which is another club within Cape Town.

It was great to see some Rotary Members, and eat some great food! I'm a vegetarian so I didn't try the meat, but I heard it was delicious. Another common meat product here that I haven't tried but I've heard is good is biltong. Biltong is a dried meat (it can be any kind), but I hear it's better than just regular jerky. They even make mushroom biltong, which I'll have to try one of these days!

There are so many different national parks in Cape Town, and these are just a few that I was able to visit. I can't wait to share more as I am able to visit different parks and see the beautiful views they have to offer!

26 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page