top of page
Search
  • blockerabby1

Presentation Season

This past month has been busy with presentations of all sorts! I was invited to speak on the field of biomedical engineering and my experiences as a Global Grant Scholar to several Rotary Clubs in District 9350. District 9350 covers parts of South Africa, Namibia, and even up to Angola (although I haven't been nearly this far)! I have presented to my host club (RC Claremont), RC Hermanus, RC Blouberg with visiting club RC Melkbos, RC Tygerberg, RC Helderberg Sunrise, and the District 9350 mini-conference. There are two more invitations that have been extended as well! Each club visit has brought in unique perspectives and given me the opportunity to share my field with others, which is always something I appreciate.

Not only have I presented to Rotary Clubs, but I also presented my proposal for my MSc project in October. My thesis is titled: User-centered design of a virtual clinic model for remote, rural, and underserved areas. I'm very happy to share that it was approved by the division, so that I can move forward with my project!

Of course, it can't all be work work work! I took some time over the course of the month to do some fun volunteering activities. I joined members of the BME department to paint a local elementary school. We spent the morning painting fun designs on the walls of the classrooms. I also volunteered at one of RC Claremont's annual fundraisers: Papa Paul's Halloween Party. I spent the day hosting Halloween games for kids to play, and it was a great event!


24 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page